[Skip to content]

Search our Site

Restated ‘Zero Harm’ pledge at sell-out MPA Health & Safety Conference and Awards 2016

First publishedin Aggregates Business Europe
2016 November December
[ Zoom ]
John Crabbe Trophy
The John Crabbe Trophy was won by Lhoist UK
The MPA Health & Safety Conference & Awards 2016 was a huge draw, with ABE editor Guy Woodford among those in attendance.

Inspirational and effective leadership and innovation in the delivery of health and safety in the UK mineral products sector took centre stage at the Mineral Products Association’s Health & Safety Conference Awards 2016.

Chief executives and other senior figures from Mineral Products Association (MPA) members were among 285 delegates, from 62 organisations, restating their Zero Harm pledge on health and safety during the sell-out event at 30 Euston Square, London, England. The renewed commitment to Zero Harm coincided with the launch of the MPA’s ‘Safer and Healthier by Leadership’ program.  

Hosted by BBC Presenter Sybil Ruscoe, the morning’s opening address was delivered by Simon Vivian, chairman of the MPA. Keynote conference speakers were Jesús Ortiz, UEPG president; Phillip White, head of the Health and Safety Executive’s (HSE) Operational Strategy Division; Lawrence Waterman OBE, director of health and safety at Battersea Power Station; and Nicky Moffat CBE, formerly Britain’s highest-ranking female army officer and an expert in leadership roles.

Speaking at the event, Simon Vivian outlined how the MPA was working with its members to deliver on the “common goal” of Zero Harm. “Over the last year, the MPA has invested not only in raising health awareness. We have stuck to our task on cycle safety. We have our Stay Safe campaign, growing participation on the Avetta Contractors’ Database, increased use of Safety Passports, and are progressing and delivering greater workforce competence. We have published and distributed nearly 20,000 copies of a new [MPA] Driver’s Handbook, produced in record time by a handful of member companies, generous enough to share their own internal practices for the good of all.

Vivian said that the MPA’s Safequarry and Safeprecast apps were being used by increasing numbers, and the Association hoped to top 2,000 users very soon. “Safequarry is now used globally in over 160 countries, with 32,000 visits each year. We’ve held five Safer by Sharing seminars, attracting over 200 delegates, and four Health & Safety days, attracting over 400 participants.

“However, despite this progress ,significant challenges remain. Since we last met, another of our colleagues has lost his life. And while LTI’s [Lost Time Incidents] are marginally down, they are effectively plateaued. Achieving even further significant reduction is going to require increased effort at all levels. There are still too many incidences where carelessness and failure to follow basic procedures are resulting in injuries to our employees.

“Externally, incidents involving cyclists are down, but incidents with pedestrians are up. And there has been one fatality that we’re aware of in one of our disused quarries. It’s a sobering and tragic fact that despite our best efforts, our industry has never had a fatality-free 12 months. Whilst member engagement is increasing, we need to widen and deepen it, and crucially, accelerate it.”   

Jesús Ortiz, whose UEPG organisation represents 250,000 aggregate sector employees across Europe, said: “Health and safety is and should remain the cornerstone and top priority in our action patterns in managing business within this industry. Visible, felt leadership is key. It is not reserved for nice meetings in our boardrooms. It should flow and reach everybody and every person on-site, including contractor and sub-contractor employees.”
[ Zoom ]
Sir Frank Davies Trophy was won by The Hills Group
The Sir Frank Davies Trophy was won by The Hills Group
Ortiz also praised the equal level of large and SME companies featured on the MPA Health & Safety Awards’ shortlist, as it emphasised how health and safety needs to be at the forefront of firms of all sizes within the mineral products industry.

MPA Health & Safety Conference interactive panel sessions focused on a number of key developments affecting the industry. The first panel session featured Martin Brown, health and safety director with Crossrail, and Jem Bezodis, Kier Group’s head of safety on the Mersey Crossing.

The second panel session involved Chris Leese, outgoing chairman of the MPA Health & Safety Committee, and senior consultants Darren Broadhead of Darren Broadhead Consulting Ltd, Rory Graham of IM&S Solutions Ltd and Glenn Rowe from Arbour Safety Management Ltd.

The afternoon was devoted to celebrating innovation and achievement through the MPA Health & Safety Awards, with the independently-judged awards this year attracting 140 entries from 20 different large/SME companies and organisations.

Martin Whitmarsh, former chief executive officer of McLaren F1 Racing and now CEO of the Land Rover BAR America’s Cup Team, presented the bulk of the hotly-contested awards after giving a fascinating presentation focusing on his experience of leading teams of high-achieving engineers and sportspeople.

In the final speech of the event, Nigel Jackson, MPA’s chief executive, said: “The MPA Health & Safety committee, led so enthusiastically by Chris Leese, supported by his excellent working groups, MPA Council and the Board, agreed to focus on the crucial role leadership needs to play if we are to achieve our common goal of Zero Harm.

“That is why we encouraged all CEOs from our producer and contractor member companies to attend and renew their commitment to achieving Zero Harm.”

“The combined effort of the companies in MPA across its 12 product groups represents the most powerful opportunity to deliver change on the ground in this industry and the most powerful factor in that process is leadership.”

The MPA Awards’ winners were:

Special MPA Awards

John Crabbe Trophy (Outstanding Excellence in Health & Safety):
Lhoist UK

Sir Frank Davies Trophy (Companies with less than 100 employees):
The Hills Group

In recognition of contributions to working group initiatives:
MPA Transport Health & Safety Working Group

For contributions to safer and healthier by sharing (companies with 100+ employees):
FM Conway; Cemex UK Materials

For consistent health & safety performance:
Singleton Birch

Category Award Winners

Bitumen/Asphalt/Contracting (Eurobitume UK Trophy):
Colas Ltd (Warrington) - Ground based pumps for unloading bitumen

Worker Involvement (TUC Trophy):
Celsa Steel Services (UK) - Improvement in H&S communication and engagement

Transport (Blue Circle Trophy):
Tarmac Ltd (Glasgow) – Vehicle and pedestrian movements review following new products and vehicles

Occupational Health & Well Being (Wimpey Minerals Trophy):
Brett Group (Pocklington)  – Pocklington Patio Project Pack Build Automation

Contractor’s Safety (BACMI Trophy):
Colas Ltd (National) – Traffic management access gate

Engineering Initiatives (MPA Trophy):
Brett Group (Poole) – Improving access to Penta tumble drum for maintenance works

Reducing Operational Road Risk (TfL Trophy):
FM Conway (National) – Prevention of lorry accidents Behavioural Safety: Safety Culture; Leadership Management (MPQC Trophy):

– Esprit d’Equipe (Team Spirit) Behavioural Safety Program

Individual Recognition Awards

Rob Buston - Brett Landscaping

Andrew Parsons - Cemex UK Materials

Stephen Bull - Cemex UK Materials

Nigel Mitchell - Cemex UK Materials

Steve Taylor – Cemex UK Materials

Richard NeedhamAggregate Industries

John Hudson – Colas Ltd

Peter Smith – Colas Ltd

Ryan Wood – Colas Ltd

Chris Taylor – Stanton Bona Concrete Ltd

Companies in this article

Share this page

Page Comments