[Skip to content]

Search our Site

UEPG 2016 Sustainable Development Awards Ceremony

First publishedin Aggregates Business Europe
September October 2016
[ Zoom ]
UEPG Sustainable Development Awards 2013 Brochure
The tri-annual UEPG Sustainable Development Awards Ceremony is a milestone event in the organisation’s calendar.

The tri-annual, must-attend major UEPG event is the Sustainable Development Awards Ceremony. The 2016 Sustainable Development Awards is, therefore, a milestone event in the UEPG calendar.


UEPG launched the first European Restoration Award scheme in 1997. In 2005, UEPG enlarged the scope to include all aspects of sustainable development with the UEPG Sustainable Development Awards, and in 2010 a special award was dedicated to Biodiversity.

The European Aggregates Industry supports the principles of sustainable development and is committed to operating with care and concern for the environment, for its neighbours and for society as a whole.

The UEPG Sustainable Development Awards illustrate this commitment by promoting the spread of best practice and by encouraging projects that go well beyond what is required by planners or regulators, set new standards of excellence, and provide an inspirational example that others can follow.

The Sustainable Development Awards Ceremony rewards aggregates companies that have successfully integrated the social, economic and environmental dimensions of sustainable development into their operations by precise achievements exceeding expectations. It creates a more positive understanding and appreciation of the key role played by the European Aggregates Industry, in order to ensure sustainable access to resources, and to encourage SMEs (small and medium sized enterprises) to use best practices examples in all three areas of sustainable development.

Categories in 2016

The three sustainable development areas are divided into sub-groups and a special Award for Biodiversity.

•     Restoration
•     Environmental best practice
•     Local community partnership
•     Health & Safety best practice
•     Economic contribution / added value to society
•     Operational best practice, process or product innovation
•     Best practice in innovation or recycling, marine or manufactured aggregates
•     Special Award for Biodiversity

Jury members in 2016

For the 2016 edition, the independent jury was composed of:

•    Angelo Caserta, Regional Director, Birdlife Europe.
•    Dr Jonas Satkunas, Director of Lithuanian Geological Survey, EuroGeoSurveys.
•    Jean-Pierre Damm, Vice-Chair of SSDCEI, industriAll (European Trade Union).
•    Sirpa Hertell, Member of the CoR and of the Espoo Council in Finland.
•    Dr. Robert Galler, Head of the Institute for Subsurface Engineering, Montanuniversitat Leoben and Chairman of ITA CET Steering Committee, International Tunnelling Association Communication Education Training.

This year, the independent jury had to select the winners from 41 excellent entries from ten countries, including Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and UK.

Sustainable Development

Awards in 2016

The awards ceremony will take place on 16 November, 2016, in the prestigious Brussels Centre for Fine Arts, Rue Ravenstein 23, 1000 Brussels, starting at 3pm. The Centre for Fine Arts, a palace of the arts, was the brainchild of Victor Horta and was the first cultural centre of its kind to be constructed in Europe.

It first opened opened its doors in 1928.

Moderated by Peter Woodward, the awards ceremony will showcase excellence in the industry as demonstrated by the 41 entries. Peter Woodward is an experienced independent professional moderator. As Director of Quest Associates, Peter specialises in assignments on all aspects of the sustainable development agenda. Peter is in demand both for his skills in process design and as a facilitator for major European conferences as well as fine-grain stakeholder dialogues.

Do not miss UEPG 2016 Sustainable Development Awards Ceremony on 16 November so you can hear more about the 41 entries received.

More information on the UEPG website.

Companies in this article

Share this page

Page Comments