[Skip to content]

Search our Site
30 April 2019

Record entries for UEPG Sustainable Development Awards

First publishedon www.AggBusiness.com
There have been a record 53 entries from 13 countries for the 2019 European Aggregates Association (UEPG) Sustainable Development Awards.

The tri-annual awards ceremony will be held on 20 November in Brussels. The awards highlight the European aggregates industry’s support of the principles of sustainable development and its commitment to operating with care and concern for the environment and for society as a whole.

The UEPG awards are intended to illustrate this commitment by promoting the spread of best practice and encouraging projects that go beyond what is required by planners or regulators, setting new standards of excellence and providing an example that others can follow.

UEPG launched the first European Restoration Award scheme in 1997, and in 2005 enlarged the scope to all aspects of sustainable development with the UEPG Sustainable Development Awards. In 2010, a special award was dedicated to Biodiversity. Since 2013, the UEPG says each edition of the awards has received more than 40 entries.

For the 2019 awards the new category of 'communication' has been added.

The independent jury for this year's event is composed of Brenda O’Brien, manager at Brussels Liaison Office, European Agency for Safety and Health at Work; Slavko Šolar, secretary general of EuroGeoSurveys (The Geological Surveys of Europe); Anna Ostręga, professor at AGH University of Science and Technology, Faculty of Mining and Geoengineering; Guy Woodford, journalist editor, Aggregates Business Europe/International; Ester Asin, director at WWF European Policy Office.

The awards ceremony takes place from 5pm CET on 20 November at La Madeleine, Rue Duquesnoy 14, 1000 Brussels.

Companies in this article

European Aggregates Association
Page Comments